Summer Nostalgia

Freaks and Geeksmy so called life

I’m trying to be more positive everyday and I think it’s working. Some opportunities have creeped in slowly and I’m grateful things are picking up.

I don’t know why I’ve been watching old 90s tv shows about high school and teenagers but I’ve been watching episodes of my old favorites, “My So-Called Life” and “Freaks and Geeks” whenever I can. There’s something about summer time that makes me feel nostalgic for high school, or now, school in general but after watching these shows as an recent college grad and self-proclaimed “real” non-student, I’ve been noticing so many things I never had before. The themes of these shows were so real, relatable, and even educational in so many ways that teenage shows nowadays can never be. It is sad how shows today are not as deep as T.V. used to be in the 80s or 90s. Maybe I’m at the stage in my life again where I’m feeling depressed or down on a regular basis, maybe I’m feeling like a overly emotional high schooler again. Either way, I feel as though I can still relate to these shows and that they are even giving me some words of wisdom, as weird as that may sound…

In the the Pilot episode of the “Freaks and Geeks”, the main character, Lindsey (Linda Cardellini) is your average high school teenager who decides to change her attitude, friends, and her school life after her grandmother dies. When Lindsey is forced by her father to go to the homecoming dance, she is extremely upset and annoyed, feeling as though she is experiencing the worst possible punishment in her post-pubescent life. Her guidance counselor, the calm, long haired, hippie-esque, Mr. Ross sheds some light on the situation when approaching Lindsey at the dance, ”If the worst thing in your life is somebody making you go to a dance, then I’d say you have a pretty good life.” 

Mr. Ross’s words not only comment on Lindsey situation but seems to permeate to life in general. For me, all the little things I’ve experienced and worried about don’t seem so bad. So what if I still don’t have a solid job or a regular paycheck? Never again will I have this much free time to reflect on my interests, learn more about careers, spend time with family and friends, travel, or pick up hobbies like playing the guitar or dance. Never again will I have a life without a 9 to 5 job or adult responsibilities like paying rent or commuting to work. My opportunities are endless right now even if it seems like there is nothing in the here and now. 

I’m beginning to realize that even if I’m forced to reconcile that I now must live a post-grad life, it’s still a pretty good life to be living. 

Leave a Reply

